Welcome Back

IMG_20150629_210739028_HDR.jpg

Last year upon my return from Rwanda, I made a promise to myself that I would go back. I didn’t know when or how; I only knew that God had prodded my heart and told me that my story with the Rwandan people was not yet over. Now I’m sitting in an airport in Doha, Qatar, waiting for my flight to Kigali; while I know that this experience will be completely different than last year, I can’t help but feel all the excitement and apprehension and the vast pressing weight of the unknown– just like it was my first time.

This summer, I am continuing my work with Engineering World Health as an On The Ground Coordinator. My job is to help all the new Summer Institute students with issues that may arise as they undergo the transition from training to working in their hospitals as well as work with contacts on the
ground to maintain good standing between EWH and the Rwandan government. I can’t wait to jump in and get started!

In addition to working with EWH, I am also doing market research for the startup I am creating with some of my fellow students at UT: MedIO. We have developed a low-cost patient monitor that can address the gaping holes
in monitoring capabilities for large hospitals, an issue I witnessed firsthand last year. I will be showing our alpha prototype to doctors across the country to gauge interest and initial reactions to the product, user interface, and appearance. I am extremely excited to see how this product can integrate with the existing technology in developing world hospitals– our team has worked extremely long hours to develop this prototype that serves as a low-cost substitute for inaccessibly expensive monitoring devices.

With all these ideas and goals buzzing around in my head, however, I am trying to force myself to slow down and enjoy the moment. Right now, I’m sitting on the floor near my gate for the final leg of my 34 hour flight to Kigali.
I got a Fanta citron from a stand in the airport (oh, how I have missed it!), and I am watching day break on the desert horizon through the window. I am blessed indeed.

While internet connection will be scarce for the first few weeks, I will do my best to keep this blog up-to-date and (hopefully) an interesting read. Until next time… Murabeho!

 
22
Kudos
 
22
Kudos

Now read this

Ekdam Sundar

Driving above the clouds on a mountain switchback My last week in Nepal has been an incredible and crazy journey, and I have Okhaldhunga to thank for that. I’ve met some incredible people and seen some beautiful places, and most... Continue →